The Falcon Of Lastastia Pt. 1: Higher Than The Sun

Friends, the time has finally arrived!!! Here is part one of The Falcon Of Lastastia. According to the date of the last time I edited it, I finished this poem back on August 27th, 2018. So quite a while ago!!!

I hated sitting on it for so long, but I just had to wait for the right time. And that time, is now!! I hope everyone will enjoy it. Even reading it now, I’m quite proud of the result. I really am quite pleased with it!

Before each part, I do plan to set up the scene with some prose. I don’t expect to write a novel’s worth of sentences, but I will write as much as I see fit or desire. Hopefully it’ll help flesh things out, at least a little bit, and be enjoyable to read.

This poem centers around Necronominos, the god of the moon. If you want to read more about him, or need a refresher, check out this link! It leads to a previous post, which includes a brief character bio on Necronominos, as well as Illuminestres, the goddess of the sun.

I also want to mention that I did finish part 3!!! I’m pretty certain I know what part 4 will be about, but I have no timetable for it, nor have I started it yet. Surely, it will happen though, eventually!!

 

The Night The Moon Came Crashing Down: The Fall Of Necronominos

 

Many years ago, long before The Falcon would see the light of day, Necronominos was stirring late one night. He was feeling quite miffed, perturbed over his place in life. “It just didn’t seem right! It just couldn’t be!! How could the world not see!!!”

“Lastastia is blind, and robbed of the very best it could have,” he snarled to himself. Life couldn’t possibly be so unfair, let alone so arbitrary, so inane! “Fate is not fixed in stone. One’s part to play, is not the only way. Some are just too brilliant to be held back!!!”

So, within his palace, that resided within the holy city of the Gods, on a night like any other, a rebellion was born. Something that started so small, seemingly so innocuous, would tear Lastastia in two. His heart swelling with pride like a river that had a little too much rain, he overflowed with self-conceit. Before an audience of one (Only Necronominos himself, of course!) he began to sing.

 

The Falcon Of Lastastia Part 1: Higher Than The Sun

By

J.E.

What made you so much better
That the pantheon crowned you Queen
Why do the poets struggle in their tributes
And the most divine voices in praise sing

Everyone talks about how great you are
Oh Goddess of the Sun
But if I had my way
I’d be number One

The Moon is supposed to reflect your glory
But that’s too paltry of a task
For a being of such splendor
It’d be an insult just to ask

Why should I be content
And not filled with malice and resent
This damned conspiracy!!!
Everyone is just against me

Surely jealous, I do not doubt
For I am a man of great ability
Talent oozes from every pore
To resist my charms, pure futility

Higher than the Sun
Such a thought, is oh so fun
And when all is said, and done
I shall be The One

Epics shall be written
Songs shall be sung
Kids will be named after me
I’ll be first in all hearts for eternity

I shall plot
And I shall scheme
Step by step
I’ll reach my dream

My followers will increase
My acolytes will be extra fervent
And soon the flames of war shall arise
And all those aligned with the Sun
Shall meet their demise

©

2 thoughts on “The Falcon Of Lastastia Pt. 1: Higher Than The Sun

    • Your continued support is ever the blessing, and extra motivation to keep pressing forward with this project. I can’t express how overjoyed I am, that you enjoyed this, and can’t wait to read more. I hope to not let you down, and provide many more entertaining entries in this series.

      Like

Leave a comment